Mastodon Verification

Aether Reception

Aether Reception
Photo by Guillermo Diaz / Unsplash

I just wanted to say a big thank you to everyone who purchased, shared, and complimented Aether. It was an absolute joy to ship something new again, and a lot of fun to surprise people with something unexpected.

The biggest surprise to me of the launch was the difference in response between Twitter and Mastodon. On Mastodon, it quickly made a splash, spreading quickly beyond my immediate network. On Twitter, it was completely flat for the first couple of hours, before the algorithm took notice and began to display it to people. In the end, it made a reasonable impression, but in the moment it was very frustrating.

Yesterday evening, Aether made it to #1 in the Top Paid chart of the Reference category, and to #28 of all paid apps in the US. Not bad for a weekend project!

And now I’m just sitting here twiddling my thumbs waiting for Apple to release yesterday’s sales numbers 😬