Mastodon Verification

Hey.

Hey.

So it increasingly feels like all of social media is an absolute dumpster fire, and I figured this is probably a good opportunity to re-examine how I use it.

The first step is to cut out twitter. I’m keeping my account active, and I’ll likely post about big work updates, but I think I’m done contributing to Elon Musk’s revenue or ego.

The second step is to take greater ownership of my presence online, and so I’d like this site to be my primary home on the internet.

While most of what I post here will be free and available publicly, I’m also creating a paid membership tier, mostly so I can share some behind the scenes work that isn’t ready to show to the world. You can sign up here.

Lastly, you can find me on Mastodon at benricem@mastodon.social, and on Glass at @BenRiceM.

Mastodon is a lot like twitter, but it’s to owned by any single entity, rather a federated group of servers that all work together. It’s really picking up steam as twitter continues to explode.

Glass is a paid social network dedicated to photography. It cuts out all the crap normally associated with social media. If you’re at all interested in photography, you should definitely check it out.

That’s all for now. I’m excited for this opportunity to just.. be myself? I hope you like it.

Ben